XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

Solving electrical probems and pics of new (to me) 2013 XJL

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2023, 01:24 PM
QP7
Received 35 Likes on 33 Posts
Default Solving electrical probems and pics of new (to me) 2013 XJL

I checked my battery to ground from the negative terminal in the trunk, and it looks ok to me..? But I am no tech...., so over to you experts... I would like to learn as much as I can myself, so that I can ensure this car becomes very reliable.

Thought you might also enjoy a few pics of what is my, new to me, 2013 XJL with 35,000 miles - which I hope will also allow you guys to help me better learn how to diagnose the issue and get this cat 100%...

Is that too much rust on the screw and nut - it looks pretty good when I had my head back in there, but the photo shows some corrosion - is that enough to cause ground issues?

Looks in good condition to me? But I am no professional...

I presume that red capped lead, not being connected to anything, is correct ? Or, is that a howler?

Does anything look like it's amiss here?

Unlike the early MY W140 MB S classes no wiring harness degradation that I can see...?

Anything amiss?

Same question?

Nice to see the plastic screws missing :-) - and this is a one lady owner car... (allegedly)

What is this called, or for?

Well, at least it is a slow leak... I was away traveling for 3 weeks and just before I left I topped this up. So, I do have a leak, which was expected anyway... Will deal with that after I get the electrical system working properly.