XJ ( X351 ) 2009 - 2019

Updated timing chain fails. With pictures. 5.0sc

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2020, 07:52 PM
Received 37 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Updated timing chain fails. With pictures. 5.0sc

Symptoms:
My car ran perfectly with no excessive noise. (Well other than the supercharger coupling that sounds like a can of marbles bouncing around in my supercharger)
I parked the car for about an hour. Came out, started the engine and noticed immediately valve train clatter and a rough running engine. Right away restricted performance kicks in and I make the short drive home. Once home I pulled codes for misfires, cam and crank correlation. Typical for timing problems. I am an experienced mechanic and I knew about the timing issues on the JLR 5.0L engines, so I tore down the engine. To my surprise, I found updated chain guides and what looked to be new tensioners. I was also surprised and disappointed to see a lot of carbon buildup, sludge, and gunk. All typical of neglected oil and lots of blow-by.

Findings:
So why the hell did my timing chain jump on the drivers side? Chain was tight and the infamous chain guides have already been replaced.