XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

2004 XJ8 VDP Sunroof Problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2013, 07:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 XJ8 VDP Sunroof Problems

Hello everyone, I'm new to the Jaguar community and this forum. I acquired my car a couple weeks ago and have been absolutely in love with this car since getting it.

However, the other night in the cold Denver weather, one of my friends mistakenly hit the sunroof button, and instead of it opening, there was a popping noise, and the sound of the sunroof track or motor (not which sure). It made the sound like the sunroof was opening, however the glass didn't move and pop upwards about 1/2 and inch open.

After playing around with the sunroof button for a little while I was able to get the glass to sit flush and where I believe it to be closed. When pushing the open or close button it still sounds like the sunroof track is operating but the glass only pushes up a slight amount or doesn't move at all.

My question is whether anyone has had a similar problem to this, and if there is a relatively easy way to fix it?

I went into the purchase of this car with the knowledge that somewhere down the line I was most likely going to have some maintenance repairs of some sort, and have a small amount of money set aside for these occurrences. However, if this is something I could possibly fix on my own, I'm totally game doing that rather than taking it to the dealership and getting a large bill.

Thanks for the help,

Mike

Old 03-08-2013, 09:57 AM
Received 53 Likes on 47 Posts

Originally Posted by fourtitude
Hello everyone, I'm new to the Jaguar community and this forum. I acquired my car a couple weeks ago and have been absolutely in love with this car since getting it.