XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

2004 XJ8 went into reverse WHILE driving!

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2018, 07:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 XJ8 went into reverse WHILE driving!

I've searched the forums but couldn't find anything like what I'm seeing. Which is disturbing because I've found nearly everything I've ever needed to know about any of the Jags I've owned (an X200, 2x X400s and now an X350).

Short story: While driving at around 30 mph the transmission felt like it was shifting strangely and the gearbox fault warning was displayed. After coming to a stop, I pushed on the accelerator and instead of going forward the car moved backward. I work in IT, so tried the obvious and turned the car off/on again and it started going forward again for 20 feet or so, and then it slammed violently into reverse again. All in all, it was mildly terrifying - especially so when thinking of what could have happened if it had occurred in heavy traffic at highway speed. I've just gotten it home with the help of a tow truck.

Background: This is my first x350 - I've had it for around 3 months. It has 97k and has had a few minor quirks, but it seems to have been fairly well-loved by it's other two owners. It has otherwise been very reliable and very enjoyable to drive.

Yesterday, the ABS and DSC lights came on while driving home from work. After reading up, I ordered rear speed sensors (due to arrive Thursday). The warnings were gone this morning during the drive to work, but returned again on the drive home. This time, the speedometer stopped working - again, pointing to the speed sensors. After making a couple stops en-route I continued on my way home when the above issue with the gearbox occurred.

Has anyone experienced this or heard of it happening?

Thanks in advance to anyone who has any insight or suggestions!

AftrBrnr
2004 XJ8

Old 11-07-2018, 12:58 AM
Veteran Member
Received 595 Likes on 472 Posts

i have not seen this before.