XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

2004 XJR ...on the ropes

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2017, 04:54 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 XJR ...on the ropes

I have a 2004 XJR with 154k miles on it.

Mechanic says that the transmission is going to go "soon". He says it is not worth paying him to replace it. I think I agree with him.

I am not a mechanic ... what would you do with it?

Old 05-20-2017, 05:11 PM
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Is it displaying any issues yet? If not, you could just keep driving it... Otherwise, I guess your choices are repair, replace, or sell the car as is. If it was me, it would depend on the condition of the rest of the car and how attached I was to it - all of those choices are going to cost money...

Old 05-20-2017, 05:47 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,456 Likes on 1,952 Posts

What is the mechanic's reason for saying it is "going to go soon" ? Any reasonable person would want to know why not just when.

Old 05-20-2017, 06:05 PM
Received 30 Likes on 26 Posts

Get a second opinion, a mechanic shouldn't give you such a vague statement like that. That's almost useless.

Old 05-20-2017, 06:26 PM
Veteran Member
Received 475 Likes on 311 Posts