XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

2004xj8 transmission-Transmission Fault

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2024, 05:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 2004xj8 transmission-Transmission Fault

I play softball and I was down in Florida playing in a tournament and when I got in my car to start it to go the hotel I got a "Transmission Fault" code. I thought it was low on fluid. Could not find a dip stick so I called the shop back in Louisville who have worked on it. They told me I did not have one. I'm an Architect and the only thing I know about cars is they have 4 wheels on the ground and one up front on the driver side and a few peddles on the floor. I was 100 miles from where I was staying, I had no option but drive it back to the hotel. When I got there I stopped at a transmission shop they were to business to ck code so I went down the street and got it read. They said it was "transmission control module". They could not get one for a week. I was planning on going back home to Louisville the next day. Took it back to transmission shop, they kept it over night, they told me I needed a new transmission. They tried for three days to find parts. They then told me the "fault" went away and they could not make it come back on. They told me that I had a 90% chance of making it to Louisville, Ky, 1,000 miles. Made it home, no problem drove it for about three weeks before the fault came back on. Took it to the shop that had worked on it, ABS problem. They told me "Transmission Control Module" but they could not find one and the fault had gone off. I drove it 4-6 weeks without a problem and the came back on. I now have the part but the transmission shop I took it to cannot program it. I have been looking on lime and if I bought the right part it might not need to be programed???? I have been trying too also find the software and to buy it if I can. PS I have driven it for a week or more both times with the fault still on a it drives just fine, normal. Doe