XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Advice on buying a 2005 Jaguar Vanden Plas

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2024, 03:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Advice on buying a 2005 Jaguar Vanden Plas

Hello, this is my first post on the forum so I apologize for any mistakes. I graduated college about two years ago, and I finally landed a decent job making decent money (60k a year). For as long as I've been driving, I've had a cheap beater just to get me from A to B, which means that I've got some experience doing routine mechanical things.

Long story short: I've been tempted by an 05 VDP on facebook marketplace. Its got 75k miles, no body damage, and no mechanical issues mentioned, all for $8500. I'm wondering if anyone can tell me some tips on what I should know before I get serious about this car. Thanks for your time.

Old 06-05-2024, 03:45 PM
Received 33 Likes on 15 Posts

There's a good sticky for this topic already: https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...d-know-112913/

What I can think of to look for at a glance off the top of my head:
  • Engine: Check for signs of a subtle misfire at idle or signs of oil leakage at the valve covers or on the VVT seals. If possible, pull one of the ignition coils and see if there's oil on it. If so, the valve cover gaskets and spark plug o-rings will need replaced. These AJ-V8 motors are stout and reliable, no real gotchas to look out for mechanically.