XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Aftermarket Stereo

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2011, 04:16 PM
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Aftermarket Stereo

Ok, I'm a newbie to the forum, and yes, I will go to the newbie sandbox later today to introduce myself and my car.

Jumping in head-first here though... I've searched thru the site for anyone having successfully upgraded the factory stereo to an aftermarket unit, and was really only able to locate one person-- and it involved a custom panel being fabricated.

It seems (by reading several posts) that the factory stereo in the S-type and X-type are the same dimensions as the XJ. So is there any reason I cannot order a double-din install kit from Crutchfield for the S-type and assume will also work on my 2004 XJ8? Also, considering I have the standard, non-amplified stock stereo, will the harness adapter (and steering wheel control adapter) for an S-type also work?

Assuming the S-type harness adapters would work, it seems to reason that the install would be simple if I'm ok with not installing an amplifier just yet. Of course, I would more than likely end up installing 2 amps, subs, etc, at some point-- but it would be nice to know that outside the fiber-optics harness, the rest of the system is pretty industry-standard?

I see there seems to be an industry-wide oversight for anything specific to the 2004-10 XJ's. Yes, I understand the fiber-optic system, etc... but for those of us interested in building a system, we would abandon that network anyway.

I guess an easier way to ask this question is: Is the standard non-amplified stereo in an S-type, the same unit as a non-amplified stereo from an XJ of the same year?

Although I'm a newbie here (and to Jags), I have years and years of experience with the guys on Roadfly (BMW).

Thanks in advance!

2004 XJ8 Black on Black

Old 01-21-2011, 07:33 PM
Default am I the only one?