XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Air suspension fault

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2015, 02:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air suspension fault

I have been driving jaguar for over 10 years and it seems that this particular jaguar, XJ 8 L 2005 seems to act up in the cold. recently, I noticed the air suspension fault light come on during the extreme cold days. It also takes a little longer for the car to rise. Does anyone have any ideas as to how I can fix this situation (btw, I have changed the relay and the fuse).

Old 01-10-2015, 04:50 PM
Received 1,428 Likes on 1,069 Posts

Welcome to the forums.

Yes, just about every X350 owner can attest to the air suspension issues in temperatures below 40 degrees. Jaguar even mentions this in their training manual when describing the air suspension system.

Air is thinner as the temperature lowers.

Another possibility is your piston ring is worn.

Read up here on the forums - lots of information shared amongst the X350 owners and experts.

Since your new - please take a moment to post an intro in the "New Members Section" of the forum.

Welcome - Anthony

The following users liked this post:
Don B (01-10-2015)
Old 01-10-2015, 06:00 PM
Received 13,425 Likes on 6,623 Posts

Hi Muliebral,

As Anthony has mentioned, this is a very common issue for X350 owners. I think he's right that your air compressor piston ring is almost certainly worn. Fortunately, it's a relatively easy and inexpensive fix, using an affordable kit from forum member bagpipingandy (bagpipingandy.com).

It is also likely that you have one or more air leaks in the system. On our '04, the front right shock leaks from the top seal. Ordinarily, the compressor can keep the system charged despite the leak, but on cold days the compressor has more difficulty recharging the system.