XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

brake time (2004 XJ8)

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2011, 11:21 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default brake time (2004 XJ8)

well while washing the wife's car I found a crack in the rear rotor on the passenger side, so it's brake time

obviously I'm wanting to run ceramic pads

as far as rotors, I would prefer cross drilled and slotted BUT I'm new to the whole Jag ownership and I'm wondering if there's any places to avoid when making the purchase? currently rotorpro's is going to get my business

Old 07-03-2011, 01:19 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,379 Likes on 1,489 Posts

Yikes!

According to feedback on this forum, EBC pads seem to offer the best performance v. low dust. From what I have seen, ceramic pads, while low dust, do not offer very good stopping power.

Cross drilled/slotted rotors offer no additional benefits on passenger cars. If want them for just cosmetics, then there are a few web stores that carry them, but they are more expensive when compared to OE replacements.

Old 07-03-2011, 01:32 PM
Veteran Member
Received 483 Likes on 404 Posts

I agree, you're really not going to see any difference with cross drilled/slotted rotors on a street car. There is no point!

Old 07-03-2011, 03:08 PM
Banned
Received 256 Likes on 218 Posts

Stoffer,

Unless you are involved in some serious track work with your car stay away from ceramics and slots. They cost plenty, don't serve well, particularly in urban driving, and you will not like the "feel" of em. Alan and Jahummer got it right.

The OEM brake set up for these cars is plenty good. There are a number of aftermarket suppliers offering quality components too.

Far too many drivers think that race bread components are intrinsically better when the fact is they are sometimes intrinsically worse. We hear good reports on the EBC red stuff from our Jag Techs. EBC components are not bargain priced but the reports are PD good.