XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Drivers side vents not blowing hot air, passenger side is.

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2011, 08:40 PM
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Drivers side vents not blowing hot air, passenger side is.

Hello again, another HVAC question. Just FYI, I did a pretty extensive search, and I'm not seeing exactly my situation, but several close ones. (I'm seeing a lot of X-type HVAC questions.)
Mine is a 2005 VJ8 VDP. I've noticed the passenger vents blow pretty good heat when on. The two middle vents: 1 driver and 1 passenger, I can tell the driver's side is slightly cooler than the passenger side right next to it. Also - the left-most vent (to the left of the steering wheel) is quite cool when on max heat.

I've read about the heater core being plugged, but I'm thinking this is a blend-door issue.

I'm a rookie when it comes to this, so please tell me where to start the diagnosis. Oh also - please tell me this isn't a $2000 dealer repair. Thanks guys.

Old 10-30-2011, 09:23 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,490 Likes on 908 Posts

Originally Posted by Anxious Jim
I've read about the heater core being plugged, but I'm thinking this is a blend-door issue.
Due to the design of it, a partially blocked heater core is quite common, especially after 6 years, so I would try back flushing it first to see if that cures it.

I had mine changed last year ('04) which fixed my problem but wish I had tried back flushing it first. Some posts said backflushing wouldn't work as the debris in the core solidifies but I have since seen many people who have been successful doing it.

Old 10-31-2011, 10:01 AM
Received 31 Likes on 24 Posts

the car has dual heater cores, I would guess the driver side is blocked. Try backflushing it.

Old 10-31-2011, 02:36 PM
Received 973 Likes on 644 Posts