XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Engine check light recurring problem

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2013, 07:02 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool Engine check light recurring problem

Hi,
My name is Reggie McNeil. I'm a retired Naval Officer with 40 years of service!
I purchased my 2006 Jaguar XJ8L brand new in August of that year. It was my wife's birthday present . I only have 38K miles and it is in mint condition both inside and out to include ALL scheduled maintenance. Other than a Bluetooth synching problem which apparently cannot be resolved I have no complaints. Several months ago without warning and no evidence of ANY operational, mechanical or engine malfunctions my engine check light just popped on. Dutiful as I am I took it into the dealer. It was reset and I was sent on my way. However within several weeks it came on again. They checked for error messages made whatever adjustments called for by "Tech Assistance" and off I go. Now the light comes on and won't go off even after being at the dealer 2-3 weeks at a time. My latest 2 week sabbatical resulted in them replacing the power module which they absorbed the cost! Brought it home yesterday no problem. Today I went to start it and no go! AFter reading the manual I discovered the infamous "Interim Switch" reset it and back to working order EXCEPT that darn light is back!https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/i...on_special.gif Both my service writer and apparently the service technician are baffled not to mention my frustration. What are they missing??

Old 05-25-2013, 04:22 AM
Veteran Member
Received 737 Likes on 465 Posts

You need to get a code scan
I would suggest you get your own Mongoose and SDD and do that yourself

Cheers
34by151

Old 05-25-2013, 09:19 AM
Received 71 Likes on 30 Posts