XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Higher mileage 04's

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2013, 03:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Higher mileage 04's

Super noob question about 04 xj8's with 100k+ miles. So if there is a link to an already created thread please link me there.

So my situation is I love my 06 xj8 a lot. I spend forever waiting for one black/black with the chrome 19's and mesh grill. I got one only to find it's not right for my situation. I'm a college student and I work at a place where I'm forced to park on the street (I actually bought a scooter so I don't have to drive it for work). None the less I just don't like the unfair conditions for the vehicle.

So I've since fallen in love with maserati coupes and have decided to get one and buy another car for under $6k to scoot around in and not be so paranoid about

I run across 04 xj8's with 100k+ miles every now and then for under $6k. I'm currently eyeing one with 140k that was one owner and garaged. My question is what should I be weary of with such high mileage? My 06 has 69k and has been a dream, but I don't know if I'm just lucky or I can expect this from another xj8. Maybe I should go boring and get a lexus es? Or opt for a lower mileage xj8 of the previous body style?

Thanks any and all in advance for your help!

Old 11-22-2013, 09:09 AM
Received 56 Likes on 23 Posts

There was a thread a while ago where everyone was posting their high mileage cars but I can't find it.

We bought our '04 XJ8 new and has 111,000 miles now and has been a good car. The only issue we've had is uneven heating from the dash vents which has cost us $2500 the first time to replace the entire dash vent thingie and right now we have a plugged heater core causing the SAME uneven heating costing us $1300 + $400 for a new PCV and throttle body service. Warranty covered an issue with the variable timing thingie. That's it, except for the usual brakes, fluids, etc.