XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

How to remove the middle console?

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2013, 07:48 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to remove the middle console?

Is there a reset button for the shift under the middle console? I stuck the shift, I think because while I was backing up and still moving I shifted into drive, then it just stuck in reverse. This happened once on my Honda and there was a rest button to fix it. I really think it is stuck because of my action. Does anyone know how to try this. I think it is under the middle console. I will need exact direction, because I know nothing about cars. First, how do I remove the middle console on a 2004 XJ8?

Old 01-19-2013, 08:58 PM
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Shifter bolts?

Arbus, I'm no expert But it sounds like you are experiencing what a lot of owners experience. There are 2 Bolts that hold the shifter bracket onto the transmission. Try jacking the car up and looking at the transmission housing. You might find a bracket that has lost one or two bolts on the transmission housing. If this is the case I believe it's a pretty simple fix once you have the correct bolts.

Old 01-19-2013, 10:29 PM
Veteran member
Received 1,151 Likes on 753 Posts

Agree with above post by Jim, check that first!

Old 01-19-2013, 10:47 PM