XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Larger MAF question & Injectors/Tuning

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2014, 12:10 AM
Veteran Member
Received 171 Likes on 127 Posts
Default Larger MAF question & Injectors/Tuning

Hey all,

I am working on my air intake setup and saw that Pro M makes several MAF's that "work " with the 04 xjr. MAYBE ill get some questions answered here:O)

1) How many have done this?
2) Has anyone upgraded injectors along with the upgraded MAF?
3) Tuning Options? Reflesh? Dyno Tune? Any do it yourself setups>

Ive been tuning my own cars for many years from SCT software to Megasquirt. Just wondering my options here.

I realize in the end my mods are going to be limited by my ability to tune (regardless of what anyone says!)

Many thanks

Damon

Old 04-21-2014, 03:22 AM
Received 4,454 Likes on 2,426 Posts

I know of one X350 XJR that has had the MAF changed for a Pro-M style configurable MAF, but it hasn't been documented anywhere online, so I can't tell you much more than that.

I don't know of anyone who's gone for bigger injectors though, the injectors on these 4.2L S/C engines can support 600HP (see Avos posts about the Twinscrew kits) so I guess that's why nobody's gone bigger yet.

Tuning the ECU is possible, it's a Denso unit, has been mentioned a few times here on the forum. BUT the ECU has to come out and be reflashed on the bench, it can't be done via the OBD port, and there's nothing user-friendly like the SCT tuning boxes, unfortunately...

The hardware for modifying the ECU tends to be the Alientech K-Tag, but some other gear might also work.

EDIT

There is one thread here in the X350 section, where a member in Europe had his XJR tuned by "a local guy" and have a look in the S-Type section, one of the guys had his car tuned by Eurocharged.

The S-Type R has the same driveline and ECU as the XJR.

Last edited by Cambo; 04-21-2014 at 03:26 AM.
The following users liked this post:
Don B (04-21-2014)
Old 04-21-2014, 03:47 AM