XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Need info on XJR purchase

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2009, 06:48 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Need info on XJR purchase

Hello all, I am not yet a JAG owner but will be in the near future. I have come down to 2 choices, the XJR or XJ8L which will likely be 2007/08 model years. I have a couple of questions for you folks who have experiences with these motorcars.
1, In regards to the suspension differences. I think I read somewhere the XJR had a tuned steel coil suspension, or is this auto riding on an air system? Is the suspension tuned differently than the XJ8L, for a more sport like (firmer, tighter) ride.
2, This next question is subjective. What do you owners enjoy most on your late model Jaguar? Ride, Performance, Comfort and amenities, or Owning a vehicle that you don't see by the hundreds on a daily basis.
I have been driving Land Rovers for 15+ years so I am not new to the "British" vehicle issues. (Most people I hear saying how unreliable they are don't or never have owned one). And on that note what has been you folks service issues with these stately motorcars?
Thanks for any help to give me an in-sight as which to purchase.
Regards, Jeff

Old 02-09-2009, 07:55 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,202 Likes on 933 Posts

I like the looks the most. The construction is actually pretty nice when you detail the car. The weatherstipping is quite impressive. Many parts are actually well thought-out. The ride is a bit plush, options are easy to use.

I think the XJR also uses air suspension.

Last edited by mosesbotbol; 02-10-2009 at 09:19 AM.
Old 02-09-2009, 08:17 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

the xjr does have air suspension.

Old 02-09-2009, 11:45 AM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts