XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Poor/stupid man's road to 400whp. Might take a village on this one. Input please!

Search this Thread

Old 05-12-2021, 01:34 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Poor/stupid man's road to 400whp. Might take a village on this one. Input please!

Good day folks! As the title states, 400whp is the goal without sending myself into poverty. Can it be done? Maybe. Will I try? You betcha.

Here we go: This week I should be getting my new ride. 2005 XJR with 125k miles. Not ideal, but I think I can work with it. I have a lot of experience with older muscle cars, but this thing is going to be daunting. Too many wires. I've binged as much as possible on the content here, but I'm completely overwhelmed so here we go. I'm a brand new Jag owner and I know it's likely heresy for most of you, but I have zero desire to maintain originality and am willing to upgrade anything. I like to tinker and I like unique cars, so feel free to recommend or point me in the direction of any wild or crazy mods. I'm a muscle car guy at heart, so please let me treat this like one at least a little bit.

First Things First:
When I get my ride, it's going straight to my trusted mechanic for inspection and a good look over. After this, its fluid changes all around. Engine oil, power steering, brake, transmission*, rear diff, coolant, supercharger oil, etc. I was able to find the specs on all fluids necessary, so that's pretty sweet. Looking to get as close to factory performance as possible off the bat.