XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Replace throttle body

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2013, 12:17 PM
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Replace throttle body

Greetings.
Given the issues my Vanden Plas has been having, I've decided to replace my throttle body. I'm a less-than-average mechanic, but with the information on this board, I think I'll be able to do it.
I talked with Gaudin Jaguar (again, at the recommendation of folks on this forum) and ordered it today. Frank was very patient & helpful in getting information for me. He reminded me that "on some of these cars, it might be required to take it to the dealer to relearn the settings." (That was a question that I had gotten several different answers on.) after looking up my VIN, he said all I'll need to do is unhook the battery & rehook; it'll learn by itself.
I know the throttle body is a concern for a lot of people, so hopefully this thread will help others.
The procedure seems fairly straightforward, but does anyone have any tips that I might be able to use? Anyone know what torque settings the throttle body gets tightened to? Many thanks for the support.
-Jim

Old 09-07-2013, 09:43 AM
cjd
Received 90 Likes on 74 Posts

It's very straight forward. Just pay attention to the connectors and hoses as they come off, so you aren't confused when putting them back. Picture phone works great for that!

Remember to buy the new gasket. Good op to replace the air filter too.

There are connections for coolant, but mine did not even drip when I disconnected the hoses.

Once installed, turn the key on, but do not start the car. Slowly press the pedal to the floor and release 3 times to "learn" the new throttle body. then you're good to go.

The following 2 users liked this post by cjd:
Anxious Jim (09-07-2013), pkoko (01-28-2017)
Old 09-11-2013, 10:16 PM
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts