XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

SV8 Cold Start Misfiring Bank 1

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2017, 10:38 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default SV8 Cold Start Misfiring Bank 1

On the first start of the morning, I have a rough idle . It persists for 20-30 seconds until the car steadies out at around 600 rpm, at which point the car is smooth as butter.

During this rough idle phase, I will occasionally get a CEL with misfire codes. I started a thread on this earlier when I was only having a misfire on one cylinder. Now, I regularly get them on all cylinders on bank 1 (1, 3, 5, 7).

The most recent code read was this:
P0301 (Cylinder 1 Misfire Detected)
P0303 (Cylinder 3 Misfire Detected)
P0305 (Cylinder 5 Misfire Detected)
P0307 (Cylinder 7 Misfire Detected)
P1316

When I only had one misfiring cylinder, I suspected a bad coil/plug or even a weak battery, but seeing all on a bank leads me to believe it is something else.

I am new to Jags, but read on here about the importance of monitoring short term and long term fuel trims. Using an ELM and Dash Command, I observed the short term fuel trim ranging from -10% to -20% during this time, even though my long term trims are around +3%. I cannot see a way on Dash Command to get fuel trims per bank. Doesn't this suggest very rich running during start up?

I can turn a wrench, follow instructions, have rebuilt engines in the past, and have all the documentation available here. What I'm looking for is some guidance as to where to start trying to track this down. I took it to the shop last week and they were unhelpful (cleaned throttle body, cleaned injectors, and reflashed ECU) and the problem remains. What could effect all the cylinders in a bank this way?

My car has around 46k miles on the odometer.

Old 05-28-2017, 08:19 PM
Received 247 Likes on 177 Posts