XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Valet Mode stupidity

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-2012, 05:11 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,456 Likes on 1,952 Posts
Default Valet Mode stupidity

Well, tonight I was driving with my family to a local restaurant. It was dark and with the car standing all day the seats were a bit cold so we had the electric seat heaters on. Wife then got a bit too warm, so tried to reduce the heat settings using the dash control, but managed to press the stupidly placed "Valet" button. So we arrived and I tried to open the trunk and the glovebox, but only got a "bleep". However, my owner wallet was in its shelf in the glovebox so I could not even get to the Owner Manual to read how to cancel it off !!

Anyway, got to restaurant, car locked OK on the plipper, and when we got back, I unlocked the car, and then unlocked the trunk using the key facility and all was well, valet mode gone. So when I got back home, I studied the manual and learnt that there is a special green valet key for this mythical valet person to use to drive and park the car and lock it. So my question is - why have the valet button at all if there is a special key to work it ? What possible function does the separate button provide. How many owners use this facility ? I have no green key for my car, and cannot ever imagine using this facility. Presumably it is for very rich owners who subscribe to very expensive golf clubs where they have such persons.

I have to say that I would like to meet the Jaguar engineer who put this feature on the car, and wring his neck !

Old 01-03-2012, 06:27 PM
Received 23 Likes on 17 Posts

Frazer,

I am far from an expert, but I do use the valet button, and I don't belong to a country club.