XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Windshield wipers lift during snow

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2015, 11:47 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Windshield wipers lift during snow

Hi Friends,

First of all my sincere apologies, if I'm asking any dump questions. I'm very new to this beast family and please do forgive me, if I'm so dump.

Questions:
1. I have seen many people lifting up the windshield wipers during snow time on their cars in order to prevent the wipers from ice freeze after or during snow. when I tried to do the same in my 2006 Jaguar XJ Super V8, I'm unable to lift it. Is there any specific way to do so or first of all is it necessary or advisable to do so?

2. If windshield wiper lift is not possible then what are the actions that I need to do with the frozen wiper before start using the car?

Thanks for your assistance and patience!

Old 11-21-2015, 11:18 AM
Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts

Hi you will notice that the bottom part of the windscreen has heating elements in even if you don't have a heated windscreen, the idea being that this will un-stick the wipers automatically, I can't comment on how effective it is though as I've only had my X350 since Feb and not yet see a frost!

Old 11-21-2015, 01:35 PM
Received 54 Likes on 43 Posts

I have a heated windshield, and when I still lived in snow belt, it took only a matter of a minute to melt the thickest of slabs of ice from the windshield, and free up the wipers. It would take me longer to chip the ice off the side windows. If was to pick nits, it was the vertical bands at the edges of the windshield that were not heated, that the wipers pass over. So it was totally unnecessary to attempt to lift the wipers off the windshield with a heated windshield. I have no personal experience with non-heated windshield X350's.

Old 11-21-2015, 06:25 PM
Received 2,266 Likes on 1,845 Posts

Originally Posted by sasie007