XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

x350 speedometer fault

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2014, 11:27 PM
Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
Default x350 speedometer fault

hey guys, a newbie here. Thank you all for all the great infos on the forum.

I have a quick question about changing instrument cluster. I have 2005 xj8 and my speedometer needle is not working properly. Needle suddenly drops to zero after couple minutes of driving and is usally stuck there until I reignite the car...and does that again.

I went to a dealership and it looks like speed sensors are working fine as mechanic drove with computer linked to the car, computer kept showing the right speed while needle dropped to zero again.

He says I need to change the whole cluster.. $1,200(that's in USD and I am in Korea) brand new..I can buy used ones off the Ebay for less then $100.. I am wondering if I can simply change the cluster to used one and all the data and records will just show up again as old ones or do I need to go to dealer and they have to use their computer to reinstall everything? Well, dealer says the latter. He says I can't use the used one as each cluster is specially configured for specific vehicle?

If possible I would buy the used one and take it to local shop who has Jaguar program to install..

what do you guys think?

btw, below is my car. Love it, except this speedometer and air suspension..

Attached Thumbnails x350 speedometer fault-xj.jpg  
Old 05-19-2014, 09:09 AM
Veteran member
Received 1,151 Likes on 753 Posts

I can't answer your question about dropping in a used cluster. Sorry. But before you try something like that, have you tried a hard reset on all your computer's? (Remove negative terminal and touch to positive side to discharge all stored energy) it could be a simple module glich.

Sent from my Epic 4G using IB AutoGroup

Old 05-19-2014, 06:06 PM
Veteran Member
Received 761 Likes on 637 Posts

This is speculation on my part but here goes: