XJ XJ6 / XJ8 / XJR ( X350 & X358 ) 2003 - 2009

Yet another air suspension question

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2014, 03:33 PM
Received 27 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Yet another air suspension question

Hi all.

First of all, I should mention that I've been driving on my full-sized spare for a few months after getting a flat tire (back right tire). I didn't notice when I put it on, but the spare tire was a slightly smaller tire than the other 3, which explains why I was getting some traction control intervention when making hard left turns sometimes (I figure the TCM thought I was getting wheelspin due to the tire size difference).

Over the Memorial Day weekend, I decided to plasti-dip my wheels. I jacked up the car, one side at a time, and took the wheels off for painting. While I was at it, I changed out the back right wheel for the one with the correct sized tire.

Well, since then, I've been getting the air suspension fault message after driving with a bit. It goes away after power-cycling the car, but comes back after a while. When parked, it does look like the back right is sitting a little low.

After replacing two of the air struts last summer (not the back right one), I'm now kicking myself for not doing the coilover conversion right away.

What I'm wondering is, since I changed the tire size on that back right wheel to the larger tire size, is it possible that it's 'confusing' the air suspension after driving with the smaller tire for the past few months, and the car thinks there's a problem with the ride height on that side? Is there a way to 'reset' the suspension's memory, so to speak? That corner looks a tad low, it's not bottomed out or obviously blown (like the two I replaced last year were).

It all seems a bit too coincidental that the error comes right after jacking the car up and replacing that wheel for it to be a typical air suspension problem, unless jacking it up was the straw that broke the camel's back...

BTW, the wheels came out nice: