XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

9.5 quart oil change?

Search this Thread

Old 09-06-2015, 03:01 PM
Received 80 Likes on 43 Posts
Default 9.5 quart oil change?

I did my oil change the other day and I did something I have never done before. I drained the oil before I went to sleep and let it drain over night. Which I'm sure is overkill. When I woke up I put the plug back on and changed the oil filter and proceeded to add the 8.5 quarts of oil.

I ran it to make sure it wasn't leaking and to fill the oil filter. Took a shower, and came back to check the oil and it was barely over minimum. I added another quart (for a total of 9.5 quarts) and it brought it to the full mark dead on and has been there since. All the other oil changes have been between 7.5-8.5 quarts depending on how long I let it drain.

Just found it odd because I was under the impression these engines take 8.5 quarts as that's what I've read here on the forum and on all data. What gives? Any ideas? I was thinking since it drained so long all the oil came out but still didn't make sense to me since this engine (to my understanding) takes 8.5. Always shut off and checked on flat surfaces by the way.

Last edited by Scarecrow; 09-06-2015 at 03:10 PM.
Old 09-06-2015, 03:19 PM
Veteran Member
Received 675 Likes on 496 Posts

Are you sure you haven't overfilled it? I think the manual says it has to sit for several hours between running the engine and checking the oil.

I'd suggest letting it sit overnight and checking again.

Last edited by al_roethlisberger; 09-06-2015 at 03:22 PM.
Old 09-06-2015, 03:36 PM

Originally Posted by al_roethlisberger
Are you sure you haven't overfilled it? I think the manual says it has to sit for several hours between running the engine and checking the oil.

I'd suggest letting it sit overnight and checking again.