XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

A/C compressor pulley wobble

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2021, 06:14 PM
Received 55 Likes on 29 Posts
Default A/C compressor pulley wobble

My 97 (base XJ6) began making a little compressor noise that I noticed from outside the car, and watching the compressor, noticed that while clutch is disengaged the pulley spins perfectly fine. When the clutch kicks in though, the pulley assembly wobbles a bit and there is a noise like bearings dying (not too bad yet, but will obviously get worse). So far the A/C still functions fine.

Questions:
- Is this indeed bearings going out, or just something loose? I'm a decent home mechanic so can I repair this myself if simple enough.
- Is this likely going to cause contamination and failure of the system if left alone for a while?
- If I have to replace components, what should that be? All of them?
Compressor
Receiver/Dryer
Condenser
Expansion Valve

Anything else? I know this will be an expensive undertaking. If I leave it alone for now (I can't afford this fix yet), will it potentially cause more damage to more parts, or should I disable the A/C (pull fuse best?) for now until I can afford a proper fix? How hard is replacing the evaporator?

Old 03-15-2021, 06:37 PM
Received 472 Likes on 272 Posts

Its most likely going to be the idler pulley, not a difficult job unless tensioner bolt is stuck. Simply loosen up the bolt holding up tensioner to the bracket, then undo the tensioner bolt itself, remove belt, remove two(?) bolts holding up bracket itself, replace tensioner idler with either original, gates 38007 or something similar. I think last time I've done this job I've searched for AC pulley and found a number of them in similar size.
That should hopefully fix it.