XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Locked out , Key in car , Remote no help

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2017, 03:24 PM
Veteran Member
Received 1,387 Likes on 1,090 Posts
Default Locked out , Key in car , Remote no help

Yep , left key in ignition in the " on " position as troubleshooting other system . Closed doors and I pushed all locks down . Trunk open as have done trunk modification previously . Car battery fresh full charge . Remote FOB fresh new Energizer 2016 batteries . Main fuse OK . The FOB flashes as it transmits , should the FOB lights be on steady ? . I have done some wire chasing with the Security Module and the Wiring Schematic ( electronics by profession ) but will leave that out for others security concerns but I can discus the details in Private Mail . Should the FOB lights be on steady as a good strong signal ?

Thanks , Parker

Old 06-04-2017, 07:45 PM
Received 8,218 Likes on 4,955 Posts

I use a plastic/nylon crate binding strap to unlock 1988 to 2003 sedans. Pry the top of the door open and slide the strap DOUBLED as a LOOP.

Wiggle the doubled loop down the back of the door glass frame and catch the lock knob.

PULL BACK HARD and then pull UP.

Works every time.

bob

The following users liked this post:
Lady Penelope (06-04-2017)
Old 06-04-2017, 08:17 PM
Veteran Member

Thanks Motorcarman , pull straight back to tighten then up to pull knob . Disconnecting the battery for the knob may want to drive back to lock with the key in the on or run position . Heading to the store now for a scrap strapomatic and will keep in trunk .

Thanks , Parker

Last edited by Lady Penelope; 06-04-2017 at 08:34 PM. Reason: edit
Old 06-04-2017, 08:59 PM

I keep a 3 foot length of the binding strap in my tool boxes and customers always want a length after they see me open the car in a minute.

All the mechanics had the straps in their toolboxes when I was at the dealer.