XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Lusting after an X300, have technical questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2020, 02:18 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Lusting after an X300, have technical questions

(Made an intro thread, following advice to ask the detailed questions here)

Greetings!

I'm an import mechanic (mostly German), long admired the looks of Jaguars, only recently considered getting one. Some homework later, I settled on the object of my dreams - a black on black X300 LWB - only to have them shot down for lack of examples; I found two for sale in the whole US in the last few years, neither recently. Are they really that scarce? I'm certainly able to swap interiors, but I can't find one of those (except SWB XJR) in any color body.

The ideal find for me would be an immaculate body and interior, with everything else destroyed or missing, and priced accordingly. Why do I specifically want a lawn-ornament-grade example? Because I have the skills, resources, and inclination to 1. do a full suspension rebuild right off the bat, which has become my Standard Operating Procedure for any older nicer car, 2. go through the rest of the car piece by piece, electrics in particular, and sort it out to my liking as both user and maintainer, and 3... hopefully this doesn't ruffle too many feathers here... perform a powertrain conversion using a Mercedes OM606 turbodiesel currently on a pallet in my shop, and a 6-speed manual trans on its way from Europe.

I'm eager to hear comparisons of the X300 to any Merc or BMW of similar vintage, especially E32, E34, E38, W126, and W140.

I also have technical questions regarding the X300:
1. Are there a proper Electronic Parts Catalog and wiring diagrams that don't require a subscription?
2. Do LHD manual pedals exist?
3. Do any XJ40 or X308 interior parts fit an X300?
4. Could anyone provide the following engine and enginebay dimensions:
- length between firewall and radiator