XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Master Window Controller with seat memory

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2013, 06:04 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Master Window Controller with seat memory

Hi everyone, newbie here. My 1995 XJ6 has lost the button that adjusts the mirrors,so I'm looking to replace it. Now a local supplier has a replacement module, but it comes with the 3 seat memory buttons, except my Jag doesn't have memory seats, so I guess my question is, is the actual "memory" part of the seats in the window control mudule itself, or are the buttons just controlling some other device, like something built into the seat itself? Thanks for you help!

Old 12-18-2013, 06:31 PM
Received 315 Likes on 224 Posts

The buttons are just buttons and feed a "memory module" and other gubbins, responsible for operating and remembering positions. So, without memory seats, they should just operate the windows and mirror/s.

The mirror adjusting switch seems to be a common failure, with the little top section breaking off. If this is all that's wrong, it is possible to drill a very small hole into the "rotating ball" part of the switch and stick a map pin or similar into the hole. You know those pins with the small coloured ball on top?

The following users liked this post:
designernz (12-18-2013)
Old 12-18-2013, 08:33 PM
Veteran Member
Received 10,861 Likes on 7,146 Posts

May I be permitted a slight hijack?

My mirror switch is OK but the little button to select left-right won't hold in position. When moved it just pops back to the center/neutral position.

Has anyone ever opened up the switch pack to fix this?

Thanks and cheers
DD

Old 12-18-2013, 08:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Thanks sogood, I hadn't thought of that, if I make it a black pin, it will probably blend in quite nicely for a while! Cheers. Peter

Old 12-18-2013, 09:37 PM
Received 107 Likes on 57 Posts

Originally Posted by Doug