XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

my 97 super charger doesnt sound like the videos

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2014, 11:37 PM
Received 15 Likes on 12 Posts
Default comparative driving experience of a xjr6

Maybe I should record it and post it if I can. Ive now done two standing starts. ac off, trac off, trans in sport. 1st I shoved my foot in it and it broke loose just long enough to drift sideways a bit. 2nd time it shuddered a bit from standstill but no tire slip. I have very wide aggressive tires for the factory rim though. 0-60 seemed ok. didnt time it. Highway accel from 60-? is remarkably strong. However, my supercharger whine is not as loud as those Ive heard in videos. I have a stock airbox. Maybe thats the reason but there is a prominent whistle that the whine may get as loud as and thats it. I have no experience with these smaller blowers so I have no idea what they should sound like.

The car has new steering put in it and only seems to have cranky shock bushings I soaked to shut up. It really is a solid car. And I am extremely pleased with it. In a few weeks since I bought it, I have repaired faulty seat controls, abs wiring, cruise control vacuum, wiper relays stereo tweeters and station buttons etc. Its got a pretty nice coat of emron on it and zero door dings or rust. I am very happy. I am just looking to see if the above sounds a little soft on the power. I have read of this model breaking the tires lose at shift points. I have ordered the andy bracket and am seriously considering the lower blower pulley along with some intercooling improvement. I will go see how much the local speed shop wants for a dyno. If its in reason I will do one between each mod.

Last edited by swaschka; 06-13-2014 at 12:30 AM.
Old 06-13-2014, 03:04 AM
Veteran Member
Received 672 Likes on 495 Posts

My SC is remarkably quiet. I do hear it at higher RPM a bit though, and I have the stock airbox setup as well.