XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

My "new" 95 xjr

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2011, 04:29 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My "new" 95 xjr

hey guys, first off thanks for a great site! ive been lurking for the past week or so, so thought id go ahead and join. im brand new to the world of jaguar, just bought a 95 xjr, and guys, i do think i got a jewel with this one. i intended to buy it, fix it up, and sell it, but the more i look at it, i just want to keep it...

so heres some background info and some questions also

the car again is a 95 xjr, green with beige interior. i bought it for, get this, $380 in non running condition. so far the issues with the car are as follows:
1) trunk wont open with the key
2) trunk release wont work from inside of car(even with jumper cables installed at under hood jump terminal
3) alternator is locked up, and caused the belt to fail
4) paint is fading on roof
5) power door locks dont function with key, or with switch inside of car
6) climatecontrol just reads err"
7) it has the black jaguar hood ornament, and 2 black wheels and 2 silver wheels( i dont think its been painted, but ive never seen a black leaper, or black wheels on a jag)

so i guess thats it for now, i havent really done a complete check on the car, just loved the price tag so i bought it! any info you guys can share on some of my problems would be greatly appreciated. also, is this considered an x300? im sorry i dont know the first thing about these cars! it does look like it has a newer supercharger and steering rack in it, so im really hoping a got a steal and itll just need a new alternator to get going again!

thanks again,
andy

Old 02-18-2011, 05:20 PM
Received 6,337 Likes on 5,522 Posts

1 & 2 sound like it could be the valet switch.

Old 02-19-2011, 02:08 AM
Received 68 Likes on 31 Posts

Originally Posted by asativa
1) trunk wont open with the key
As norri said, or it could be siezed up from lack of use (common X300 problem).