XJ XJ6 / XJR6 ( X300 ) 1995-1997

Transmission Issues, Limp Mode and RPM Problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2020, 12:24 AM
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Transmission Issues, Limp Mode and RPM Problem

Hi, im new to jaguar.... and cars in general. My XJ6 X300 4.0 1995 has a new issue that I can't seem to find any information on. The car worked fine yesterday, then I parked it in a slope (which I usually don't) overnight; when I went to drive it this morning the Automatic transmission light was on and the rpm's will jump from 0-5000-2000-6000. The car works fine, it shifts fine, and the rpm's are definitely not actually jumping like that. This has to be some kind of an electrical issue, does anyone have any ideas what it could be?

Old 08-26-2020, 09:48 AM
Received 260 Likes on 193 Posts

Don had some information on how important the correct transmission service level is , with your parking on a slope may have effected that

The on the transmission connector that transmits information between transmission body and the transmission ECU and engine ECU can get contaminated

There is a picture of someone getting this different kind of connector off I'lll have to search for

You can clean this connector without jacking the car and is on the aft left side of the transmission

The connector barrel must come straight aft about 1/8 inch to unlock and only then rotate it 1/2 turn to remove , note the use of tie wraps to grip the barrel

Last edited by Parker 2; 08-26-2020 at 10:33 AM.
Old 08-27-2020, 08:57 AM