XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

01 XJ8 hard-start & won't maintain fuel pressure

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2013, 06:08 PM
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default 01 XJ8 hard-start & won't maintain fuel pressure

Hello all, I'm new to the Jag world. I just picked up a 2001 XJ8 Vanden Plas in remarkably good shape mechanically, it has some cosmetic problems and a Salvage Title but I was able to insure it and get it on the road.

Being a former (and still on-the-side occasionally) automotive technician, I know my way around an engine, but I have very little experience with Jaguars. I'm going to restore this car as much as I can...

My main issue, mechanically, is in the fuel system. With a fuel pressure gauge connected, at idle, the pressure flutters around 34psi. With the vacuum removed from the FPR, it leaps to 42psi and holds steady. When starting the car, it has an excessive cranking time and my suspicions were confirmed when I found that the fuel system is not maintaining pressure. As soon as you turn the key off, fuel pressure drops to zero IMMEDIATELY.

I was unable to find a diagram of the fuel system in my AllData software at the shop, so my conclusion is that the fuel pump is faulty. My question is...am I correct in this assumption, or is there a check-valve somewhere on the return-side of the fuel system?

Symptoms are a hard start, stumble and misfire 1-2 seconds after starting which then goes away, abrupt loss of power at wide open throttle and a light misfire that only appears under load and gets worse as load increases. I smoke-tested the intake manifold and found a few runners were leaking at the gaskets but it was very minor. Hoping the forum can help me because I'd hate to replace the fuel pump only to find there is another problem. LOVE this car though.

Old 10-05-2013, 06:18 PM

EDIT: Because it was unclear, I *am* going to replace the intake manifold gaskets, I just need to know if I need a fuel pump additionally.

Old 10-05-2013, 06:35 PM