XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

1998 xj8 4 litre failing to start

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2012, 09:08 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1998 xj8 4 litre failing to start

Hello being a newbie here i am not quite sure how things work, but I am hoping someone may be able to help me with my problem.

I will firstly apologise for maybe making this more long winded then it should be, but mechanically minded I am not.
I have had my xj8 now for about 7 months with no problems apart from having to change the windscreen wiper motor as it had the not parking properly fault, it is a low mileage vehicle (76,000) with almost full history and much money spent.

It has always started first turn of the key very powerful and quiet and pulls well.

I will say the only minor concern I have had with it is from cold start up it would have a very slight knock from the front of the engine but literally only last for seconds, so up to now hasnt been a major concern.

Up until last thursday i can honestly say i have driven the car everyday since i have owned it maybe not far each time but it was started everyday, last thursday was the exception i hadnt driven it for two days, the first turn of the key i knew there was something wrong even though it started the engine rumbled for a few seconds then stopped, it would not start after at all, but strangely it sounded like a faulty starter motor.

It was like making a wirring sound rather then a proper starting sound (if that makes sense) after reading lots of information on the net over the last few days about problems with the 1998 xj8's timing chain and tensioners I think I had convinced myself that the chain had snapped or tensioners broken, but a friend who has a slight knowledge of engines is convinced that isnt the problem as he got me to crank the engine and all the pullies are turning as they should and he pulled the oil filler cap off and see the shaft turning.