XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

The 1998 XJR 4.0 to 4.2 engine swap thread !!!:)

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2011, 11:46 PM
Received 84 Likes on 71 Posts
Default The 1998 XJR 4.0 to 4.2 engine swap thread !!!:)

Or as I should've called it.....What the hell have I gotten myself into again...

So, since I bought a car that needed a motor (spun bearing) and it had 117K miles on it I decided to get a replacement rather than grind the crank and get new bearings due to the known possible nikasil issues and due to the fact that I have no clue what was done to it before and no idea how it ran before it died.

Inspired by AVOS' thread:

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/g...k-4-2-a-23763/

I started to dig through the forums and search for a 4.2 motor.

I got lucky and picked up a 4.2 gem with 70K miles on it for $1100 bucks shipped. Pretty much complete but after a cabin fire so valve-covers and electronics are toast.

Well, what complicates things is that I'm totally new to Jaguars and again I don't even know what to expect from the car once it's done. So I'll probably be asking someone local (chicagoland) for a ride in a stocker to make sure my swap went right once it's done.

So so far I took the majority of the top end off and started comparing things. I'll post a ton of pics soon as I'm trying to document...where everything goes...and I'll try to post some comments as I go and as I edit the thread.

Again thanks to AVOS for answering my questions and providing a rough outline as to what needs to be done and sharing his knowledge.

Also thanks to Count Iblis as he also provided a lot of good info.

Hopefully the guys will not be shy to chime in here and help me along,,,, as I will definitely need help

Old 09-22-2011, 06:17 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,064 Likes on 867 Posts

Adam: