XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

2000 xj8l vandenplas gauges not functioning

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2018 | 04:46 PM
|
Default 2000 xj8l vandenplas gauges not functioning

Hello all, my name is Joshua, I am new to the jaguar family however i have extensive automotive repair experience with all vehicle systems from diagnosis to repair (which I believe will come in handy owning a jaguar lol). I just acquired a low mileage jaguar xj8l vandenplas. This car has been well kept and is extremely clean.
The previous owner was in the military so the car was stored in a climate controlled garage for the past 5 years without being driven. The battery was discharged for a few years prior to me getting it. I looked over the car and all the fluids are remarkably clean. No fluid leaks of any kind no grease anywhere on the engine. The first attempt to start the car we tried jump-starting it using the appropriate jump start preocdure. The car started and ran well but it was clear the voltage was too low and the battery needed replacing. Climate control didn't work and the defroster stalled the engine. I replaced the battery with a new one and the car started right up. Climate control and all the creature comforts worked perfectly. Now for the fun lol.
None of the instruments work on the car the tach, temp, fuel, speed, all are inoperative. Every other light is lit up on the cluster as well such as the engine, brake, and abs warnings the smaller Amber and red light and of course the display is reading the usual transmission fault, incorrect part fitted, asc not available, traction control blah blah all the usual suspects. The trip computer doesn't function at all with the buttons and sometimes will show the mileage and sometimes not.