XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

2003 XJR Should I run away?

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2013, 08:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 XJR Should I run away?

I apologize for the duplicate post, new to the forum and unsure of what should go where??!

With a 4.0l supercharger. Are these decent cars or scarey buckets that should be avoided- generally speaking. I'm looking at one with 178000 kms or 110miles. It is spotless in/out and under. I've been a gm tech for many years but unfamiliar with jags and what they are famous for (carnage). I never thought I would look at a jag, but this car is gorgeous, Thank you (feel free to ask me gm questions too).

P.S. I don't know what the price is yet, just want to know generally what these are bad for!!

Old 04-13-2013, 08:29 PM
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

I have an 01 XJR in Toronto, and its a blast. I would not run from a car that has been loved. Something tells me that you are looking at the Burgundy one at the classic car auction this weekend. Being a 2003 you don't have to worry about the normal problems like the tensioners and it has the Mercedes transmission so no worries there. Great car, though if you are looking at the one in the show it did show a few signs of rust but minor. I will be there again tomorrow, so if you want me to go through the car with you just pm me and we can try and work something out.

Old 04-13-2013, 08:32 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,184 Likes on 1,624 Posts

This is the proper section. I will delete the other posts for you.

Take a look at the top of the section for the X308 buyer's guide.