XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

98 xj8 serpentine tension problem

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2014, 08:14 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 98 xj8 serpentine tension problem

Hello everyone. I'm new to jaguars. I bought myself a 1998 Xj8 and I'm really happy with it. I'm finally having some trouble with it. I purchased her this summer. My serpentine belt tore a bit along the edges and came off. I then just replaced it thinking it was just old or something. Turned the car on and it ran perfectly for about a day. Then on my way to work it slipped off again. It didn't break or tear, it just slipped off. Put it into the garage and started to diagnose the problem. Rerouted the belt again, started the car and it slipped off again (right by the idler) and the new belt tore just like the old one. Figured it was a bad tensioner because the belt wasn't as tight as i though it should be. I bought that, and i also went ahead and bought a new idler pulley because that is where it kept slipping off. Once i had all my new parts we rerouted the new belt. I turned the engine just by flicking the key a little so it wouldn't fully start because i didn't want to risk breaking another belt. My pops was watching the belt while i was turning the key and he could tell the belt started to slip in the same place, right by the idler pulley. Stopped to make sure everything was routed correctly, which it was. We were also able to move the belt back into position by hand as if the belt wasn't tight enough. We are sure it is the correct belt. The tensioner and the pulleys are also the proper parts, so I'm ruling that out. We stopped there so we could do some more research on how to try to fix the problem. Could I please get some information for someone if they've had this same problem in the past?

Old 02-13-2014, 02:09 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,064 Likes on 867 Posts