XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Bad News & a Sad Day for me.

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2011, 09:18 AM
Veteran Member
Received 474 Likes on 355 Posts
Unhappy Bad News & a Sad Day for me.

Hello Chaps, I hope you are all well. I have had some bad news today which as a consequence looks like my XJ8 will soon be for sale.

Basically my insurance renewal came through and it has gone through the roof. It has gone up by almost £500! I have spent almost the last 6 hours searching for cheaper quotes and can not find one that is cheap enough. My renewal quote is well over £1000! I have rung them and asked and all they say is "its the rates" but I don't see how this could be the case. I am a Professional Driver with over 7 years driving & no claims but that doesn't seem to matter. I can neither afford or justify the price which I have currently been quoted. It is so sad for me to have to look at my beautiful car which I have spent so much time & money caring for and know that I can't keep it.

I will now have to consider my next move, but it looks like (for now anyway) I'll have to look a more affordable car.

I know this is not a technical post but I just wanted to get this off my chest to someone.
Thanks Guys.
Stu.

Old 01-08-2011, 10:46 AM
Received 111 Likes on 55 Posts

Whow Stu,

that sounds horrible!!!

Even in our country - where the costs of living usually seem to be higher than in other countrys I have just to pay about 300 Euros/Year for the car insurance of my Jag.

A £1000/Year seems absurd !!!

Isn't there a way around that bill?
Is it perhaps possible to register the car on someone who gets a better rate (e.g. your grandmom) or someone you know?

To let the Jag go just because of that *******ous act of legislative seems to be more than unfair!

I hope all the best for you!

David

Old 01-08-2011, 11:41 AM
Veteran Member
Received 343 Likes on 297 Posts

Sorry to hear -- Just don't move to New York or New Jersey in the States.