XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Can a chain sometimes break without serious damage?

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2008, 02:56 PM
Veteran Member
Received 411 Likes on 306 Posts
Default RE: Can a chain sometimes break without serious damage?

I have no specific experience with these, but I would think it was worth a look into the VVT solenoid. According to the info I have P1396 means VVT solenoid malfunction - B Bank (2). Possible causes are solenoid failure, solenoid to ECM ground circuit fault, VVT oil flow fault, or VVT / camshaft mechanical failure. If you Google - Jaguar vvt solenoid -, you'll see that they can cause a rattle if they fail. It's worth a try. I wouldn't give up on the engine yet.

Old 11-17-2008, 03:00 PM
Received 2,191 Likes on 1,357 Posts

ARE YOU SURE YOU GOT THE SLACK ON THE CORRECT SIDE OF THE TENSIONERS? LOL IT HAPPENS MORE THAN YOU KNOW CAUSING THE CAM TIMING TO BE OFF A FEW DEGREES, ROUGH IDLE AND THE CAM SENSORS SEE IT OFF AS WELL POSSIBLY THINKING THE VVT ARE FAULTY. tHE ONLY WAY TO KNOW FOR SURE IS PULL THE CAM COVERS BACK OFF AND MAKE SURE THE FLATS ON THE CAMS ARE EXACTLY EVEN WITH EACH OTHER, IF NOT REDO THE TIMING CORRECTLY

Old 11-20-2008, 08:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have seenOTHER interference design engines survive chain failures with no other significant damage. I am new to Jaguars though, so no experience there.

Incidentally, what is the timing belt maintenance supposed to be for the 4.0 V-8? I drove one allspring, summer, and fallin a 2001 XJ8 VDPfrom 59k to 61. No issues. No service history either.After that, I bought a 2001 XJ8L with 91k miles. Do not knowthe service history of this car.Are the chains supposed to last the life of the car?

Jay

Old 11-21-2008, 10:06 AM
Veteran Member
Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts

Did you use the proper tools to set the timing. You may not need to replace anything but just set the timing properly. Nice find by the way!

Old 11-27-2008, 04:27 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts