XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Car quit while driving

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2015, 11:51 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Red face Car quit while driving

Hi I am new to the entire Jaguar experience. I just bought a 1999 Jag XJ8 4.0 V8. Ran Fine for 800 miles. I go to pick up my girl and I get within 2 miles of her house and it quits. It turns over but wont start. I left it sit over night and I returned to it started. I drove it 4 miles home and parked in my garage and it did the same thing. I took the air intake tube off and poured just a small amount of gas in throttle body. It fired right up then stalled when it used all gas. I let it sit for 1 hour it starts and runs...I drove around block and back to garage. Turned off engine and no start....I can keep doing this vicious cycle...where do I start ????? Any help is appreciated in advance. 1999 Jaguar XJ8 4.0 V8.

The following users liked this post:
firstchoice (05-27-2015)
Old 05-25-2015, 11:54 AM
Veteran Member
Received 896 Likes on 734 Posts

Problem is in the fuel system. 1. Fuel pump 2. clogged fuel filter

firstchoice (05-27-2015)
Old 05-25-2015, 11:56 AM

any tips on further diagnoses?

Old 05-25-2015, 12:03 PM
Received 2,675 Likes on 1,836 Posts

Originally Posted by jbotts
any tips on further diagnoses?
Do you know the service history of this vehicle and if the primary and secondary timing chains, guides, rails and tensioners have been replaced with the latest versions?

Old 05-25-2015, 12:30 PM

if its the fuel pump...someone told me it has 2....is that correct?

Old 05-25-2015, 01:21 PM
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

The XJ8 has one (1) in the fuel tank. The XJR has two.

Old 05-25-2015, 01:24 PM
Received 43 Likes on 40 Posts
Default might try this...

I'm not sure about 2 pumps in an XJ8 but the XJR has 2 so maybe. The quick way to know for sure is to pull the lid on the trunk mounted fuse/ relay box and check for 2 relays.