XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

car stalls when i accelerate

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2012, 12:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default car stalls when i accelerate

hello.....i have a 98 xj8L and when i accelerate the car stalls for a second and then proceeds to normal acceleration speed.........asc will show on dash at the same time stalling occurs.......have not run for codes and will like to know what could be the culprit for this problem........could it be related to the wheel sensors..........any help will be appreciated before i have to run to dealer with vaseline in hand........thanks

Old 02-21-2012, 12:19 PM
Veteran Member
Received 536 Likes on 415 Posts

Does it behave any differently with the traction control turned off?

Old 02-21-2012, 08:45 PM

i dont know where to even look for the switch rob to turn off........im a novice for the most part and thanks for the reply...........

Old 02-21-2012, 10:12 PM
Veteran Member

No problem, it's above the radio, on the right side I think, labeled "TRAC" or something like that.

Old 02-22-2012, 01:19 AM
Received 39 Likes on 25 Posts

Originally Posted by avt007
...labeled "TRAC" or something like that.
A little correction. It's ASC OFF. Check the picture.

This ASC means Active Stability Control - it's a special system that stabilizes the rear side of the car when the tires are drifting, or the car is over steering, or it's slipping (on ice, snow etc). The system is playing with the brakes (most of all) and it's reducing the acceleration when it's necessary. By default the ASC is activated every time you start the engine. If you want to turn it off, just press the button ASC OFF - if the red light on the button is on - than the system is disabled.

Attached Thumbnails car stalls when i accelerate-asc-off.jpg  

Last edited by Estilian; 02-22-2012 at 01:23 AM.
Old 02-22-2012, 02:48 AM
Veteran Member
Received 2,181 Likes on 1,621 Posts

Originally Posted by Estilian