XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Driver Side window and sunroof help!

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2014, 09:29 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Driver Side window and sunroof help!

Hello all,

I'm new to Jags and new to the forum.

I recently purchased a 1999 XJR vin#sajpd1849xc873904 from a friend. I'm having issues with the driver's side window not rolling down and the sun roof opening, but closing on its own.

I've read multiple threads regarding this issue and I know about the battery reset. To be honest I'm a little hesitant about performing the procedure. 1. because of fear of damaging electronics and 2. because I don't have a copy of the radio code.

I also read that only 3 vehicles in the US have needed a code.

My question is should I go ahead and try the reset and risk causing damage or needing a radio code? Or is there a better way of going about this?

Thank you!

Old 02-06-2014, 07:17 PM
Received 170 Likes on 134 Posts

I don't think North American spec cars have a radio code. Why not take the car to a dealer and verify if a code is needed?

What "damage" do you think you are risking if you perform a hard reset?

Old 02-06-2014, 09:14 PM

Originally Posted by mikebaker3
I don't think North American spec cars have a radio code. Why not take the car to a dealer and verify if a code is needed?

What "damage" do you think you are risking if you perform a hard reset?
I've been thinking of taking it to the dealership. I probably will this weekend. As far as the damage I'm talking about, I don't know much about batteries and electric currents. But, touching the cables together seems a bit dangerous. I'm worried it will fry the electronics or short the battery meaning I would have to replace it.

Old 02-06-2014, 10:40 PM
Received 20 Likes on 19 Posts