XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

eBay Cross Drilled and Slotted Rotors

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2010, 09:28 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default eBay Cross Drilled and Slotted Rotors

I'm checking to see if anyone has purchased the brake rotors and pads from Topbrakes_net on eBay. There's a set of front and rear rotors with ceramic pads for $250 with free shipping. That's a deal, but only if they're decent. My 2000 Vanden Plas needs brakes and I thought that would be a good deal.

The rotors come in your choice of cross drilled only, slotted only, or both. Any recommendations? I hear-tell the slotted rotors can be noisy when they bite hard, but otherwise, what's the deal? I'm a pretty easy driver but like to stop and go with fervency once in a while.

Please advise.

Old 02-09-2010, 12:52 PM
Veteran member
Received 1,150 Likes on 753 Posts

slotted and drilled will have the consistent 'hum' as they are rotated, but its not annoying unless you want TOTAL silence when driving with the windows down.

as for the ebay rotors, not sure about that company, but check out brakeperformance.com for some good products. I and others have had good results with this company.

Old 02-09-2010, 10:07 PM
Received 47 Likes on 35 Posts

I've used the ones from R1 Concepts (on Ebay) on four of my own vehicles to replace warped factory rotors. They are:

2003 Lincoln Aviator
2003 Lincoln LS V8
2003 F150 Supercrew Harley
2001 Excursion 4X4

All of the rotors have performed perfectly. I towed trailers with all of the vehicles except the LS and have had a few panic stops while towing. The vehicles stop perfectly every time and none of the R1 Rotors have warped. To date the highest mileage (40,000) I've logged is in my Harley Truck. I run it hard and tow my boats with it. None of the trailers have brakes. The truck does all the work.

FWIW I use the Posi-Quiet Brake Pads and they were and are quiet on all of my vehicles.