XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Engine coolant level low

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2014, 04:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine coolant level low

Hi guys! I'm new to all this and also new to owning a Jaguar!

I have purchased an XJ8 3.2 V8 1998 sport model and have some issues I'd like some advice on.

Issue 1 - now and then (usually when I've put my foot down) I get the 'engine coolant level low' flash up on the dash but then goes after a few seconds. I have checked the coolant level and it seems there is fluid in the small tank however, there is no level indicator so not sure if this is ok or too low. There is a small puddle under the bonnet after being driven but this only appears after the car has been driven. If I leave the car over night or for a few hours, there is no puddle. The water doesn't seem to smell and seems as though it is just water.

Issue 2 - the engine stalls from time to time again, usually after putting my foot down. Someone said something about cleaning the in,et manifold but I know about cars to be honest and have only just started learning so not sure about this.

I have had the car fully serviced today yet none of this came up on service. It was a full big service with full diagnostics and checks.

Can anyone advise on any of this please?

Thanks

Terry

Last edited by GGG; 09-05-2014 at 05:37 PM. Reason: add detail to thread title
Old 09-05-2014, 05:32 PM
GGG
Received 16,868 Likes on 12,186 Posts

Terry,

I've moved these questions from New Member Area - Intro a MUST to X308 forum. Members here with the same model will be able to help.

Graham

Old 09-05-2014, 05:42 PM

Thank you for your help Graham

Old 09-05-2014, 05:49 PM
GGG
Received 16,868 Likes on 12,186 Posts

The 'small tank' is the coolant Expansion Tank (item 1).

Engine coolant level low-expansion.jpg
(click on the image to enlarge it)