XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

engine removal - how much space?

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2014 | 09:13 AM
|
Default engine removal - how much space?

So I finally have a good used engine for my XJR. Same year, VIN is about 300 newer.. but only 55k miles. Came from a rearended car which I'd driven, so I'm not expecting problems if the swap is done right.

I've read a bunch of posts on engine swaps.. and have all 15 pages on the removal job from JTIS.. and I'm now deciding whether to do the job myself or farm it out. I've done plenty of gearbox swaps and engine work on much older cars (old Triumphs/Rovers mainly), but this is my first time on something built since 1979.

The question is.. how much room is actually needed to get the engine/gearbox out as one? I have a "normal" garage with a 10ft ceiling height and plenty of working room. I have an engine crane that'll lift the engine, but I *don't* have an overhead hoist or the fancy gantry thing in the Jaguar documentation. The docs all assume a four post lift and a crane above, hence my paranoia.

I was planning to put the car on stands, do the necessary underneath, lower the front (back end in the air!), and then lift the engine out. Does this sound like a plan?

Thanks for reading.. my "original" thread is linked below. It's been diagnosed as oil pump failure leading to bearing failure.. and I'm quite interested in getting into the engine to figure out if that's true. Once it's out of the car, obviously.

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...-ideas-102034/

Old 04-06-2014 | 11:40 AM
Veteran Member

I have not pulled a Jaguar but have had a Ford V8 plus transmission out of a Volvo at least a dozen times with a standard engine crane and 10' ceilings. I cannot see a problem with the Jaguar. You should invest in a load leveler. That will allow the engine/trans to come out at an angle and then move to a more level position to clear the radiator.

Old 04-06-2014 | 12:12 PM
Veteran Member