XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

EVAP System Question

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2014, 02:15 PM
Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts
Default EVAP System Question

Greetings All - I am new to join the forum although I have frequently read posts over the past few years as a guest when needing help. Current ride is a 2002 XJ Sport with around 70,000 Miles on the clock. Have not had any issues for the last 18 months, but all good things come to an end so several weeks ago the check engine light came on during a 1 hour drive. I cleared the code with my code reader (Innova) to see if it was a one off thing but it came back again and another code as well. The codes are;

P0443....EVAP Emission Control System Purge Control Valve
Circuit

P0446....Evaporative Emission Control System Vent Control
Circuit

Looking at other posts on the forum, it would appear that there are a number of different possible causes - purge valve, canister close valve, leaking vapor hose, faulty oxygen sensor among others. It seems like a daunting task to track down the culprit and was hoping someone has some thoughts on a reasonable way to approach this. I don't have a smoke generator to check for leaks but if this becomes necessary I will beg or borrow one.

Any advice would be appreciated.
Steve

Old 06-18-2014, 04:02 PM
Veteran Member
Received 4,551 Likes on 3,958 Posts

Things I'd do:
1. clear codes and see which comes back first
2. stare at Electrical Guide looking for clues / things in common / etc
3. use IDS/SDD and hope it helps (get a Mongoose JLR...)

Old 06-19-2014, 07:11 AM
Default EVAP System