XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Found some XJR Seats

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2015, 05:12 PM
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Found some XJR Seats

Seasons greetings to all.
I'm a newbie on here but no stranger to Jaguars. I have owned Jaguars since 78 and have never been without one of some kind or the other. 13 years as a concourse judge for the JDC as well.
I have found a pair of very nice front seats from a 1998 XJR and they are memory seats. They have been unplugged and removed from the car without any damage. I'm very pleased about that as I want to mount them and use them as seats in my house.
What I want to know is, can I get them to work somehow by powering them up, and if it is possible, what will I need to do it?
I have the wiring diagrams for the model and I'm quite good with a meter!
Going to remove the airbags tomorrow to make them safe but I need to know if I'm on a hiding to nothing.
Many thanks in advance. Steve

Old 12-19-2015, 05:18 PM
GGG
Received 16,860 Likes on 12,186 Posts

Welcome to the forum Steve,

I've moved your question from General Tech Help to X308 forum. Members here with this model will be able to help.

Please follow this link New Member Area - Intro a MUST - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum to the New Member Area - Intro a MUST forum and post some info about yourself and your vehicle for all members to see. In return you'll get a proper welcome and some useful advice about posting to the forum.

Graham

The following users liked this post:
steve4ltr (12-19-2015)
Old 12-19-2015, 10:31 PM
Received 260 Likes on 210 Posts

My first guess would be as long as you can figure which leads provide power to the harness in the seat, you should be fine as long as you use a power converter to DC with enough amperage to power them (unless you plan on using a spare car battery and charging it every so often)

Old 12-20-2015, 03:40 AM