XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

Help a NooB - '01 XJR Overheating after changing TStat and Water Pump

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2010, 08:38 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Help a NooB - '01 XJR Overheating after changing TStat and Water Pump

Gentlemen,

I have been reading this forum for awhile...and am glad to finally contribute. Unfortunately, its on undesirable circumstances.

My 2001 XJR has 70k miles on it. It had been sitting for the past 8 months because I work as a merchant mariner and was overseas. The car stayed in covered storage for the duration of my trip. I realized while I was gone that I had left the battery terminals connected. When I returned the battery was dead...so I had it replaced. I drove the car for a week with no problems whatsoever.

One week ago my family flew in and I took a trip (3.5 hour highway drive) up to DC in my 2001 XJR. I dropped off my wife and 2 year old son while I looked for a place to park. I turned on the AC and rolled up the windows and realized the air wasn't cool at all. I noticed the 'low coolant' indicator illuminated. I then took a look at the temp gauge and it was spiked all the way up with the light on. I pulled over instantly and let the engine cool for a while. Like a jackass, I figured it was cool enough to open the coolant reservoir and add coolant. Ya, I was wrong...and my coolant painted the asphalt. Lots of steam was coming out at this point...and I let the car cool for another hour before I added coolant and got it back on the road.

Unfortunately, this was not the answer. We driving on the freeway (about 5 minutes from DC), turned on the A/C and the car again began to overheat. I turned on the heater all the way and the temps came back down. I let the car rest for 30 minutes and drove them the rest of the way back to Norfolk, Virginia with no problems other than the annoyance of having to leave the heater on high during a warm September evening.