XJ XJ8 / XJR ( X308 ) 1997 - 2003

How Much Different Is the Jaguar, Mechanically?

Search this Thread

Old 03-12-2011, 05:31 AM
Received 17 Likes on 12 Posts
Default How Much Different Is the Jaguar, Mechanically?

Except for Jag-specific problems, how much different, mechanically, is the Jaguar that "non-Jag" mechanics would be lost trying to service them? I'm not a mechanic so I have no idea.

I can see that someone not used to working on them wouldn't be familiar with, perhaps, what to look for to DIAGNOSE an issue and to know what are the common trouble areas, etc., but once a problem is known (perhaps diagnosed by a Jag DEALER), shouldn't any good auto mechanic be able to repair it with the right tools and parts?

Thanks!

SirJag

Old 03-12-2011, 08:08 AM
Veteran Member
Received 344 Likes on 298 Posts

I hate to say -- "it depends" ....... but it does. Can I assume this is a tie in to your other post regarding job prices?

As someone who likes to work on old cars as a hobby I feel I have a pretty good mechanical background - but I am no mechanic. So ...if I can do a lot of work on my cars most mechanics can also - but I pick my battles at this point.

It boils down being familiar with the cars -- many local mechanics don't want to work on Jaguars because they feel they are going to be more work -- many still think the XJs have inboard rear brakes! My experience from my time in CA is similar to the area I am in today --- no bargains exist in the auto repair area -- our local independent shops all charge $100/hour for labor and use industry time rates.

As to parts pricing - Its all over the place - some dealers charge over list for parts and some independents want to make a certain percentage from the parts they install - so depending on the two The independents can't call up the local parts store and order all the parts like they can for most late model Fords - so its more work for a Jaguar.