Prior repair: 12-2009 had restricted performance & rough running
DTC codes:

Generic:

P0354 Ignition Coil D, primary/secondary circuit
P0304 cylinder #4 misfire

Jaguar manufacturer specific codes:

P1313 Misfire rate catalyst damage fault - bank 1
P1316 Misfire rate exceeds emissions

My (former bad) mechanic replaced valve cover gaskets, spark plugs & seals & said Ignition coils were good. No help at all from the expensive repairs! Same/worse problem & same exact codes. Took to Jaguar dealer. Replaced Ignition Coil #4 and mass air flow sensor. Problem solved.

Yesterday, almost 1 year later, had restricted performance & rough running
DTC codes:

Generic:
P0301 cylinder #1 misfire

Jaguar manufacturer specific codes:
P1313 Misfire rate catalyst damage fault - bank 1

I am guessing that the trouble is now with a different ignition coil (#1)

I think I can buy one & install myself, seems fairly simple. I am not a mechanic but have done some repairs. I may even try to swap the coil from #1 to a different #, clear the codes & see if the old #1 coil is now causing a misfire in the new cylinder to confirm it is a bad coil.

Found these instructions for a ’99 XK8 & I think it is very similar:
http://www.ehow.com/how_4695000_coil...-xk-vdp-v.html

Questions:

Which cylinder is #1? (2,3,4,etc.)
Is the firing order relevant here or just cylinder number 1-8?

I would hate to replace the wrong coil due to ignorance re how they are numbered.

Does my plan make sense or am I missing something? I have read that when 1 coil goes bad it is likely that others will follow.

Thanks,

Steve

Old 11-18-2010, 01:28 AM
Received 111 Likes on 55 Posts

Steve,

the DIY instrunctions you have found is the way to go.
Perfectly described...

To swap the coil just makes sense if you have a code reader on hand.
Your idea to clear the codes, swap the coil and see if a code with a different cylinder # appears is common to check (or locate) coil failure.
But usually you can trust the OBD reading...